Tutorial for: GIMP
Inspiration: the video clip of London in the opening credits of "Sherlock" (BBC). Sort of a bright, slightly vintage, almost-pastel color combo. After some experimenting, I was able to get something pretty close:
1. Sharpen your picture (if necessary), then duplicate.

2. Make your foreground color #c36596 and the background color #fce498. On the duplicate layer, go to Colors > Map > Gradient Map. Set this layer to Color, 19 opacity.

3. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #a4ff95; background color: #ffffff. Go to Filters > Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Grain Merge, 49 opacity.

4. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #e579c0; background color: #f7ca77. Filters > Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Color, 22 opacity.

5. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #4c3ab1; background color: #f6f3fc. Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Overlay, 73 opacity.

6. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #dbe06c; background color: #f3febf. Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Overlay, 75 opacity.

7. At this point, you might (or might not) want to further adjust the opacity of the layers, brighten up the original layer (Colors > Levels), or tweak the colors/saturation on the original layer (Colors > Hue-Saturation). It just depends on the original photo. :)

Other results:
- Marian
Inspiration: the video clip of London in the opening credits of "Sherlock" (BBC). Sort of a bright, slightly vintage, almost-pastel color combo. After some experimenting, I was able to get something pretty close:
1. Sharpen your picture (if necessary), then duplicate.
2. Make your foreground color #c36596 and the background color #fce498. On the duplicate layer, go to Colors > Map > Gradient Map. Set this layer to Color, 19 opacity.
3. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #a4ff95; background color: #ffffff. Go to Filters > Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Grain Merge, 49 opacity.
4. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #e579c0; background color: #f7ca77. Filters > Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Color, 22 opacity.
5. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #4c3ab1; background color: #f6f3fc. Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Overlay, 73 opacity.
6. Duplicate the original, move this duplicate to the top. Foreground color: #dbe06c; background color: #f3febf. Repeat Gradient Map, and set this layer to Overlay, 75 opacity.
7. At this point, you might (or might not) want to further adjust the opacity of the layers, brighten up the original layer (Colors > Levels), or tweak the colors/saturation on the original layer (Colors > Hue-Saturation). It just depends on the original photo. :)
Other results:
- Marian